On our unique route through Talayotic Menorca, in which we have recently stopped at the most emblematic enclaves of Menorca, today we want to look at the Talayotic village of Trepucó which is halfway between the towns of Mao and Sant Lluis and only has a small part of the settlement remaining. In prehistoric times, because of its size, Trepucó was the centre of power in the east of Menorca.
It is known that Trepucó originally was five hectares in size and was surrounded by a wall which had been constructed on the site of demolished buildings. Currently only a few sections and two square towers remain. Inside the enclosure there were four talayots, of which only two remain today. The larger of the two is the best conserved and is circular with a height of eight metres and a diameter of twenty six. The second talayot is to the northeast of the settlement with an irregular base and a diameter of about 19 metres. In the monument details can be seen of an east facing door.
Another of the characteristics of Trepucó is the sanctuary or taula enclosure that was excavated in 1932 by the famous archaeologist Margaret Murray which caused a great impact on a scientific level. Murray documented well preserved domestic pottery which is now in the Museum of Menorca as well as important deposits of ash. All this archaeological wealth is due to the sudden abandonment of the town which was destroyed during the Second Punic War. To the west of the town you can also see remains of homes, houses with a central courtyard and distinctive outlying rooms. Trepucó has been declared a National Historical Landmark.